BREAKING: Connor Bedard wins Calder Memorial Trophy as NHL’s top rookie


The NHL hosted its annual awards ceremony on Thursday night in Las Vegas, and among the award winners was Chicago Blackhawks phenom Connor Bedard, who took home the Calder Memorial Trophy as the league’s rookie of the year.

The recognition was widely expected throughout the hockey world, as Bedard excelled as an 18-year-old for the Blackhawks, posting 61 points (22 goals, 39 assists) in just 68 games. Bedard accumulated 1,808 voting points, topping fellow Calder finalists Brock Faber (1,464 voting points) and Luke Hughes (686 points). Bedard secured 152 of 194 first-place votes.

Bedard is the 10th Blackhawk to win the award, joining the likes of Patrick Kane, Steve Larmer, Ed Belfour, Tony Esposito and Artemi Panarin, who most recently won the award for the Hawks in 2015–16.

The NHL also announced on Thursday night that Bedard was named to the league’s all-rookie team.

Leave a Reply