Blackhawks finalize roster, announce alternate captains


The Chicago Blackhawks finalized their season-opening roster after making three transactions on Tuesday, as the team recalled MacKenzie Entwistle and Philipp Kurashev from the Rockford IceHogs, moved Wyatt Kalynuk from injured reserve to long-term injured reserve and placed Andrew Shaw on long-term injured reserve.

With the moves, the Blackhawks cemented their true roster, as the initial 23-man roster submitted for the NHL’s opening day deadline was done to maximize cap space and flexibility, as many teams opt to do.

As such, the Hawks’ roster heading into the team’s first game is as follows:

Henrik Borgstrom
Ryan Carpenter
Kirby Dach
Alex DeBrincat
MacKenzie Entwistle
Adam Gaudette
Brandon Hagel
Tyler Johnson
Patrick Kane
Jujhar Khaira
Dominik Kubalik
Philipp Kurashev
Dylan Strome
Jonathan Toews

Calvin de Haan
Erik Gustafsson
Seth Jones
Jake McCabe
Ian Mitchell
Connor Murphy
Riley Stillman

Marc-Andre Fleury
Kevin Lankinen

Injured reserve
Alec Regula

Long-term injured reserve
Caleb Jones
Wyatt Kalynuk

Additionally, the Blackhawks announced their leadership group on Tuesday. Toews of course remains as captain of the team, while Kane, DeBrincat and Murphy join him as alternate captains for the season. Kane will be a permanent alternate captain throughout the season, while DeBrincat will serve as an alternate and home and Murphy on the road.

The team also placed minor-league forward Matej Chalupa on unconditional waivers on Tuesday for purposes of a buyout. Chalupa, who had been in training camp with the IceHogs, is expected to return to Europe.

The Blackhawks will open their regular season on Wednesday, traveling to face the Colorado Avalanche in a Central Division battle. Puck drop for the contest is scheduled for 9 p.m. CDT.

Center Ice Forums Blackhawks finalize roster, announce alternate captains

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.